University of York Music Press - known as UYMP - was founded in 1995 by David Blake with Bill Colleran to publish and promote new and established composers with a range of aesthetic backgrounds. UYMP's catalogue represents this diversity with voices such as Sadie Harrison, Ed Hughes and Luís Tinoco, and the recent work of David Blake, Hilda Paredes, Jo Kondo and Robert Saxton. UYMP is also proud to publish the music of David Lumsdaine and Elisabeth Lutyens.

UYMP is pioneering a series of novel educational resources for teachers and students at the primary, secondary and tertiary level. On Track, its series for GCSE Music offering students 13 new ensemble works, is endorsed by Edexcel examining board. Pianthology comprises seven contemporary piano works which can serve as an excellent introduction to new music for the piano for university and conservatoire level students, or any dedicated player looking to broaden their range.

UYMP's music is available for purchase from musicroom.com and to hire through contacting one of our international hire agents.

University of York Music Press is a charity and a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee. 


  • Professor David Blake
  • Ms Sarah Derbyshire
  • Mr Leslie East
  • Dr Morag Galloway
  • Mr Terry Holmes
  • Neil King QC
  • Professor Nicola LeFanu, Chair of the Board
  • Professor George Nicholson
  • Mr Adrian Rodaway, Finance Director
  • Professor Robert Saxton
  • Dr Martin Suckling


  • Sir Harrison Birtwistle
  • Mr Lionel Friend
  • Dr Elizabeth Haddon
  • Ms Jane Williams

Unless otherwise stated, all items on UYMP's webpages are copyright. Please contact us for permission to use any of the images or text.

Subscribe to our mailing list