Welcome to the University of York Music Press


  • 7 Jun 2019

    First review in for Sadie Harrison’s The Oldest Song in the World on Métier/Divine Art




    Sadie’s new work The Oldest Song in the World for two violas (2018) has been released on Métier/Divine Art, available from June 2019. The piece was written especially for the virtuoso violists Kevin Bishop and Steve Larson from the US ensemble Cuatro Puntos.

  • 5 Jun 2019

    SADIE HARRISON’S 'Anthem' premieres as part of In The Steps of Apollo 3D at the Bristol Planetarium

    We are delighted that Sadie has been commissioned to write a new work for the Zelkova String Quartet in celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon landing. ‘Anthem’ will be premiered in a brand new specially created 3D Planetarium show In The Steps of Apollo: from the first moon landing to the Universe beyond… at We The Curious (Bristol Planetarium) on 20 July alongside new works by Julian Leeks, Litha Efthymiou, Michael Ellison and Richard Blackford.

  • 30 May 2019

    British Youth Opera to perform David Blake (music) and Keith Warner’s (libretto) musical entertainment ‘Scoring a Century’

    ‘Ladies and gentlemen… the couple time almost forgot… THE JEDERMANNS!’

    Directed by Keith Warner, within August and September, 2019, British Youth Opera with the Southbank Sinfonia will perform David Blake’s Scoring a Century at the Peacock Theatre, Holburn, London, as part of their summer season.

  • 28 May 2019

    James Weeks: new CD release – windfell

    Dr James Weeks’ major work for singing violinist, windfell, has been released on the leading British experimental music label Another Timbre. Written for and performed by Canadian violinist Mira Benjamin, windfell debuted in October/November 2017 at concerts in London and in Durham University’s Klang series. Lasting almost an hour, windfell arose from

    ‘an image of the violin surrounded by space and open air: on top of a hill, high-up and remote, played only by the wind. On this ‘wind fell’ the breeze moves over the instrument’s surfaces, sets the open strings in motion; leaves brush across the strings as the wind catches them. A sounding-out of the instrument, its body and materials, by the natural environment in which it rests.’

  • 10 May 2019

    UYMP launches new opportunity for early career composers

    The Early Career Composers Cooperative is a free professional development opportunity for composers based in the north of England and in the early stages of their career (composers who are not in, or have recently left, education). If you are a composer meeting these criteria, this project is for you!

    Composers are invited to attend the first meeting on Saturday 22nd June: a day of sharing and networking, through workshops and discussions facilitated by Peter Wiegold (Director of the Third Orchestra, Club Inégales, Institute of Composing).

    The project is supported generously by The Mayfield Valley Arts Trust.

  • 9 May 2019

    Thomas Simaku at the 2019 World Music Days

    Thomas Simaku’s work La Leggiadra Luna was performed at the International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) – World Music Days in Tallinn on 4 May 2019. Composed for mixed choir a cappella, this work is a setting of Sappho’s poem translated from ancient Greek into modern Italian by the Nobel Prize-winning Sicilian poet Salvatore Quasimodo.

    Performed by a Grammy Award-winning ensemble and broadcast live, the programme was transferred across Europe through the European Broadcasting Union.