How to buy

979-0-57036-682-8 Alice in Wonderland – Score Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£11.95)
979-0-57036-683-5 Alice in Wonderland – Parts Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£24.95)


Written for The New Music Players and Orchestra of Sound and Light for concerts in London and Sussex, with funding support from The RVW Trust and Arts Council England.

Alice in Wonderland is a score in three main sections, inspired by a short film of the same name from 1903 by Hepworth and Stow. The film stars May Clark as Alice. In 2010 the BFI restored and released the remaining fragments of the film. It lasts approximately 9'30".

The film is fascinating because it is a very early attempt to transfer an extended children's novel to the screen. As is usual in the early days of cinema, it presents a series of vignettes or scenes from a well-known story. It is also very engaging because it uses special effects and trick photography to create the atmosphere of a dream world of fantasies and anxieties.

I wanted to work with an early film that would capture the interest of non-specialist audiences including school children and to create a score that could enable them to participate musically.

The core ensemble of flute, clarinet, piano, violin and cello establishes the pulse and the main pitch centres. Throughout the first section the pulse is clear and the pitch centre is C. In the second section, there is a more complex approach to rhythm, but throughout the piano and the cello provide the main pulse and rhythm, and the chords will always work with the note E. In the third section, the ideas of the first section are explored and developed.

EH - June 2015


9 minutes 30 seconds

The New Music Players, University of Sussex, 24th September 2015

1 Flute, 1 B-flat Clarinet, 1 Piano, 1 Violin, 1 Violoncello
Composition date


Symphonic Visions - music for silent films by Ed Hughes Clare Hammond, New Music Players, Orchestra of Sound and Light, Richard Casey 1st February 2018


17 June 2016

Attenborough Centre for the Creative Arts, University of Sussex, Falmer, Brighton

Orchestra of Sound and Light
Ed Hughes, conductor
with students from Dorothy Stringer High School, Brighton

25 September 2015 The Warehouse, Theed St., Waterloo 25 September The New Music Players, Richard Casey (piano)
24 September 2015 The University of Sussex The New Music Players