How to buy

979-0-57036-995-9 Piano Trio: Hiraeth – Score and parts Available at MusicRoom Buy now (£13.95)


This piece is based around the simple opposition of two highly contrasted ideas
which alternate during the piece. The first is fast and aggressive from the outset and
becomes subject to various processes of distortion, fragmentation and
deconstruction; the second is slow and soft, growing organically from a single note
into the plaintive lament which makes up the extended coda section (marked

Hiraeth is a Welsh word for which there is no direct English equivalent, but it
suggests a sense of longing or loss for a person, place or time which no longer exists,
or perhaps never existed at all.

Piano Trio: Hiraeth was composed in York over the winter of 2015-16.

(David Lancaster)


13 minutes
1 Violin, 1 Violoncello, 1 Piano
Composition date
2015 to 2016