Short Cuts (b) Luís Tinoco

Short Cuts (b) cover
8 mins

Large Ensemble

2 Soprano Saxophone, 1 Tenor Saxophone, 1 Baritone Saxophone, 2 Vibraphone, 1 Marimba, 1 Piano

Purchasing options

Score ISMN 57020-817-3 £14.95

saxophone quartet, percussion and piano

Programme note

Short Cuts was commissioned by the Apollo Saxophone Quartet in 2003/4 and was originally scored for two sopranos, one tenor and one baritone.

This new version, however, asks for a different scoring of the quartet adding two vibraphones, one marimba and piano.

The work’s main purpose is to play with two possible meanings for "short cuts". That is, both with the idea of sharp and cutting musical gestures and the idea of taking a different, shorter, path to reach a specific destination. But, most of all, it was written thinking of the wonderful sonority and the rare qualities of the ASQ, to whom the work was dedicated.

The work also exists in 5 other versions:

Saxophone quartet

Wind and percussion chamber ensemble

Clarinet quartet and percussionist


Percussion quartet