Before Spring (2013 version for symphony orchestra) Luís Tinoco

Before Spring (2013 version for symphony orchestra) cover
10 mins

Orchestra Orchestra (Double winds)

1 Flute, 1 Flute (=piccolo), 1 Oboe, 1 Oboe (=Cor anglais), 1 B-flat Clarinet, 1 B-flat Clarinet (=Bass Clarinet in B-flat), 1 Bassoon, 1 Contrabassoon, 2 Horn in F, 2 Trumpet in B-flat, 2 Trombone, 2 Percussion, 1 Timpani, 1 Piano, 1 Orchestral Strings

Purchasing options

Conducting score ISMN 57036-500-5 £24.95 Buy now
Study score ISMN 57036-502-9 £17.95 Buy now

symphony orchestra

Programme note

Before Spring was originally scored for 16 players, following a commission from OrchestrUtopica to be performed as a tribute piece to Stravinky's The Rite of Spring. It was premiered by OrchestrUtopica with conductor Cesario Costa at the Centro Cultural de Belém, Lisbon, on 29th May 2010.

Following a commission from OPART / Teatro Nacional de São Carlos, Before Spring was later revised and scored for symphony orchestra. This version was premiered by the Portuguese Symphony Orchestra with conductor Joana Carneiro, at the S. Carlos Theatre in Lisbon on 18th January 2014.

Portuguese Symphony Orchestra cond. Joana Carneiro, S. Carlos Theatre, Lisbon, 18th January 2014
  • 13 May 2017 | 7:00pm |

    Casa da Musica, Porto


    Casa da Musica Symphony Orchestra, cond by Martin André

  • 22 Nov 2015 | 2:30pm |

    Pantages Theater, Tacoma WA, EUA


    Tacoma Symphony Orchestra, cond. Sarah Ioannides