Via della Fortuna Sadie Harrison

Via della Fortuna cover
10 mins

Orchestra String Orchestra Large Ensemble

1 Orchestral Strings

Purchasing options

Score ISMN 57020-926-2 £14.95 Buy now
Parts ISMN 57036-266-0 £40.00 Buy now

string orchestra

Programme note

Via della Fortuna was written in 2013, especially for the St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra and Donatus Katkus. The piece is in four short movements, each one taking its title from one of the houses that line the main streets in Pompeii. Borrowing Mussorgsky's Promenade from Pictures at an Exhibition, the piece has two walkers (violas) who take the listener with them onto the Via Della Fortuna then lead them from house to house. Several amber objects were found within the houses, linking Pompeii with Lithuania. The last movement returns to the House of the Ancient Hunt then heads northwards along the Gintaro Kelias. The jubilant closing music refers to an earlier work (Geda's Weavings) based on Lithuanian folksongs.

I. Casa di Caccia Antica (The House of the Ancient Hunt)

II. Casa degli Amorini Dorati (The House of the Golden Cupids)

III. Casa del poeta tragico (The House of the tragic poet)

IV. Return to the Casa di Caccia Antica and northwards to Lithuania and the Amber Road (Gintaro Kelias) 

St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra cond. Donatus Katkus, Glamorgan Festival, Cardiff Millennium Centre, 10th May 2013
  • 10 May 2013 | 2:30pm |

    Vale of Glamorgan Festival Urdd Hall, Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff


    St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra cond. Donatus Katkus

  • 25 Apr 2013 |

    St Katharine's Church, Vilnius


    St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra cond. Donatas Katkus