Carillons after Couperin L. Sadie Harrison

Carillons after Couperin L. cover
5 mins

Solos, Duos & Trios Trios

1 piano 6 hands

Purchasing options

Performing score ISMN 57036-509-8 £9.95 Buy now

piano triet (1 piano 6 hands)

Programme note

This little piece lasting about 4 minutes is based on a keyboard work that may have been written by Louis Couperin in the mid 1600s. Baroque 'bell pieces' were generally uniform in style and structure making composer designations problematic. The main theme is heard at the outset, followed by a short set of variations. Ghosts of other composers drift in and out - Lully, Paganini and Ravel adding a few notes here and there. The players are directed to perform variously 'with joyful Baroque energy', 'with gravitas' and with 'increasing brilliance'.

Carillons after Couperin L. was written in 2013 especially for John Pitts and the extraordinary triet ensemble. It is dedicated to Bill Maddocks, friend and inspiration.

It was premiered on 22 June 2014 in Colston Hall, Bristol, as part of the Severnside Composers Alliance Music on the Edge 2013-14 Series "Piano Triets - 3 is the Magic Number".

(The source is Volume 1 of the Philidor Collection, written in Philidor's hand - Réserve F 494, pp.71-73: Paris, Bibliotheque national.)

Piano Triets, Severnside Composers Alliance Music on the Edge 2013-14 Series, Colston Hall, Bristol, 22nd June 2014
  • 22 Jun 2014 |

    The Lantern, Colston Hall, Bristol


    Piano Triets