A Journey Sadie Harrison

A Journey cover
8 mins
2015 to 2016

Solos, Duos & Trios Duos •• Solo Instrument and Piano

1 Piano, 1 Double bass

Purchasing options

Score and part ISMN 57036-708-5 £15.95

double bass and piano

Programme note

This four movement work was written at the request of bassist Ben Groenevelt for his pupil Alex Gibberd with funds provided by Bristol City Council’s Guild of Guardians in recognition of Alex’s contribution to the musical life of the city. A Journey is a reflection of Bristol’s history as a trading port with routes to the Americas, Northern Europe and the Far East, with movements entitled:

I Deep South - ‘lazy, dark blues’
II The Eastern Road - ‘austere theatre’
III Northern Lights - ‘a frozen, glittering landscape’
IV Wayout West! - ‘jaunty hoedown’