K Philip Venables

K cover
7 mins

Small Ensemble String Quartet & Solo Instrument

1 A Clarinet, 2 Violin, 1 Viola, 1 Violoncello

Purchasing options

Score ISMN 57036-079-6 £7.00 Buy now
Parts ISMN 57036-080-2 £8.00 Buy now

clarinet in A and string quartet

Programme note

K takes the first two bars of the Clarinet Quintet in A major, Kv. 581, by W. A. Mozart (1756 – 1791) and pulls them apart, exposing, reworking, fragmenting, reflecting and elaborating their harmony and gesture. The resulting short piece is almost catatonically restful, instructed ‘tranquilizing’ at the top of the score. The original two bars of Mozart’s are only heard at the very end, almost in echo.

Ideally this piece should be performed immediately before Mozart’s Clarinet Quintet K581 with a short breath between them but without allowing applause. However, this work stands well on its own as a clarinet quintet.

K was written for the Sounds New Mozart NOW Festival in Canterbury in 2006, the 250th Anniversary of Mozart’s birth. It was first performed on 4th December 2006 in St Peter’s Church, Canterbury by David Campbell, Kathy Shave, Lizzie Umpleby, Rachel Dyker and Julia Vohralik.


David Campbell, Kathy Shave, Lizzie Umpleby, Rachel Dyker and Julia Vohralik, Sounds New Mozart NOW Festival, Canterbury, 4th December 2006
  • 28 Oct 2012 | 11:00am |

    Brighton Corn Exchange, Brighton