bet giyorgis Matthew Sergeant

bet giyorgis cover
18 mins

Sinfonietta/Chamber Orchestra Large Ensemble

1 Flute (=piccolo), 1 Oboe, 1 B-flat Clarinet, 1 Percussion, 1 Harp, 1 Piano, 1 Guitar, 1 Mandolin, 1 Violin, 1 Viola, 1 Violoncello, 1 Double bass

Purchasing options

Score ISMN 57036-371-1 £17.95 Buy now
Programme note

Commissioned for the Nieuw Ensemble as part of the European Composers' Professional Development Programme in partnership with the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.

bet giyorgis is a rock-hewn church, the most elaborate and well-preserved of eleven such churches situated on the Lalibela world-heritage site in Ethiopia. The piece presents a series of cyclic passages of piano material comprised of superimposed melodic lines. Some passages are presented as solos, others are voiced from within the ensemble. The composite strands from each passage are gradually absorbed into instrumental sub-groups drawn from the ensemble (the staging of the piece reflects this). Initially, this process allows for the strands to be clarified and characterised, but no sooner as they become apparent they begin to decay - like a freshly carved stone gathering moss. Looking wider, the piece can be viewed as a study in decay and disfiguration in general; the music continuously submerging into a more and more ambiguous and hazy state-of-being. bet giyorigs forms part of a projected cycle of works, entitled the eleven churches of lalibela and is dedicated to the Nieuw Ensemble, with whom the piece was developed in collaboration, part of the European Composers' Professional Development Programme 2011.

Nieuw Ensemble, Bas Wiegers (cond.), St Pauls Hall, HCMF, 23rd November 2011
Included in
  • hcmf// ECPDP Composers cover

    hcmf// ECPDP Composers

    In November 2011 and 2012, eight composers took part in the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival's European Composers Professional Development Programme (ECPDP).