Launch George Nicholson

1 mins
May 2018
May 2018
1 Bass Clarinet in B-flat, 1 Piano, 1 Violin 1, 1 Violin 2, 1 Viola, 1 Violoncello

Purchasing options

Score ISMN 9790570368310 £7.95
Parts ISMN 9790570368327 £9.95

bass clarinet, string quartet and piano

Programme note

This piece was composed to mark the inauguration of the Centre for New Music at Sheffield (CeNMaS). It was one of several 'microcosmic' pieces written by postgraduate students and staff composers of the University of Sheffield for that occasion, to be presented as a continuous sequence of very brief instrumental and electroacoustic works.
The beginning of any new venture implies potential and possibility; borne of optimism it invokes hope for the future. It was with these thoughts in mind that I set out in Launch to fill a minute of playing time with as much activity as possible.

26 April, 2018 - Sarah Watts, Jonathan Ayerst and the Ligeti Quartet